Welcome to Exclusive Mirgration Group a Advisory company

Immigration Consulting Website Templates
Australia Office
‭+61 387388779
86 Newgrange Bld Clyde North, Victoria, Australia
India Office
‭+91 9779975629
Jandiala Road Tarn Taran, Punjab, India.

This permanent visa category is assessed against the applicant’s skills. This stream is for Points-tested skilled applicants who are not sponsored by an employer or family member or nominated by a state or territory government. It allows you to live and work in Australia as a permanent resident.

Who is eligible for an Independent Skilled Visa (Subclass 189)?

The independent skilled visa is for skilled applicants who are currently in or outside Australia who satisfy the skilled point test. Processing of applications are by invitation only and an intended applicant must submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) and have a suitable skills assessment for that occupation. Your occupation must be on the MLTSSL.

Other Requirements for an Independent Skilled Visa (Subclass 189)

You must be under the age of 45 years at the time of making application and have competent English language Skills. You must have skills or qualifications comparable to Australian Qualification in a skilled occupation on the MLTSSL

During processing of the Subclass 189 visa, it is assessed on a points system and 65 points are required to qualify as well as meeting the standard conditions.

Points are awarded in the following categories:

  1. Age
  2. English Language
  3. Australian and Overseas Work Experience
  4. Australian Study
  5. Qualifications
  6. Community Language
  7. Regional Australian Study
  8. Spouse Skills
  9. Professional Year

Benefits of the Independent Skilled Visa (Subclass 189)

This visa provides immediate permanent residency to the applicant and his or her immediate family who accompany them on their application.

Looking for a different Skilled Visa?

There are several other skilled visas available:

  • The Independent Skilled NZ Pathway Visa (Subclass 189)
  • The Sponsored Skilled Visa (Subclass 190)
  • The Regional Sponsored Skilled Visa (Subclass 489)
  • The Graduate Visa (Subclass 485)